floydius it's almost like you've got nothing better to do

14Nov/09Off

facebook applications and privacy

If you’ve ever accepted a facebook application, you know the drill. Usually it will say something to the effect of “we have access to all your information now.” Essentially, you are adding that application’s developer/company as a friend.

One thing you may not be aware of is the fact that, if a friend of yours adds an application, it might now have access to any information your friend can see about you.

Some people (like myself) are not a big fan of that. Here’s how to stop it:

  • Once you’ve logged into your facebook account, click on Settings at the upper right.
  • Then look down toward the bottom of the page and find the section labeled Privacy, and click manage.
  • Look down a couple of settings to Applications, and click on that. This brings you to the “overview” tab.
  • At the top, choose the tab that says Settings, and this will allow you to restrict how other applications (that you don’t have installed, but your friends do) can view your information.
  • Personally, I choose to eliminate any information for those applications, like so:

    appprivacy

    Good luck, and feel free to leave any questions in the comments.

    Tagged as: , Comments Off
    Comments (4) Trackbacks (1)
    1. Thanks, Lloyd. I’m all set.

    2. Thanks, Lloyd. I made the changes.

    3. Done and done…thanks man.

    4. Done and done…thanks man.


    Trackbacks are disabled.